Two Sehome National Merit Semifinalists

Bellingham Public Schools has three semifinalists and 26 commended students in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Competition. To qualify for the competition, students took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during the 2014-15 school year.

Sehome High School students Nicholas Bourlier, Katherine Cunningham and Max May are semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. For a semifinalist to become a finalist, a student must have an excellent academic record throughout high school, be recommended by the principal, submit a scholarship application and receive SAT scores that match the student’s performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. Finalists will be announced in winter 2016.

District commended students are Bellingham High School’s Adele Clark, Katherine Kindlund, Martin Sloley, Madeline Smith, Noah Thompson and William (Choji) Yamamoto; Sehome High School’s Morgan Bartlett, Viva Becker, Beth Clawson, Sarah DeRoy, Isaac Devange, Maria Fairchild, Elizabeth Friesen, Elias Hargadine, Aaron Helms, Liam Hood, Rebecca Lilliquist, Ali Morrow, Amelia Mundell, Rebekah Oviatt, McKenna Sakamoto, Nicholas Schackel, Maxim Shmotolokha, and Kevin Sun; and Squalicum High School’s Alexander Betche and Kira Smith. Commended students will no longer continue in the competition, but placed in the top five percent of 1.5 million students who entered the competition, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. They receive a letter for their academic honor.

Click here for more information about the National Merit Scholarship Program.


Photo:  Nicholas Bourlier and Katherine Cunningham are two of three 2016 National Merit semifinalists from Sehome High School.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment